About

(Random jazz hands)

Hi there!
 
My name is Jacquelyn Smith, but you can call me Jacqui if you want. (I’m cool like that.) I’m also known as Katana in certain circles, which is a whole other story. I live on the outskirts of Toronto, Ontario (Canada), but to be honest, I spend most of my time in my own little world, where elves, dragons, and Xena: Warrior Princess run rampant.
 
I’m  an indie fantasy author, and I’ve even won some pretty sweet writing contests. (For more about that, check out my short stories.) I always have a few writing projects on the go, but I’m probably best known for my epic fantasy World of Lasniniar Series. I also write action/thriller novels as Kat Irwin.
 
You can check out some of my favorite books over on my Goodreads favorites shelf.

 

My quirks/obsessions include (but are not limited to):

  • Nine Inch Nails (As in the band, not some weird lack of personal hygiene.)
  • Xena: Warrior Princess
  • Ancient Egypt
  • Photoshop
  • Jazz hands!
  • MS DOS RPGs (That’s right, I’m a nerd. Deal with it.)
  • Saying the words ‘tube’, ‘bungalow’, and ‘slice’ (I’m also easily amused.)

 

Influences

When it comes to my writing, I try to channel some of my favorite authors, such as J.R.R. Tolkien and Katharine Kerr. Soul Seeker was also heavily influenced by Siddhartha by Herman Hesse, and The Unclean was written as an homage to Pauline Gedge’s The Scroll of Saqqara.
 
Fans of Nine Inch Nails, The Tea Party (the Canadian rock band, not the political party), and Xena may notice references, especially in Soul Seeker. ;)

 

Cave snorkel jazz hands!

If you would like to get in touch with me, please visit my Contact page.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*